RSS

LATE NEWS PART 1: Josh Trank to Direct Stand-Alone Star Wars Film

05 Jun

Howdy ladies and gents and welcome to the first part of a set of blog posts related to cool news stories that broke this week that I haven’t gotten around to talking about until now. So Firstly I’m gonna start with the biggest news in my opinion that’s related to Star Wars. The following information comes from superherohype:

chronicle-movie-image

In addition to the episodes of a new “Star Wars” trilogy, Lucasfilm and Disney continue development of multiple stand-alone movies that will offer new stories beyond the core Saga. The newest director to come on board is Josh Trank.

“We’re thrilled to welcome Josh into the family,” says Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy. “He is such an incredible talent and has a great imagination and sense of innovation. That makes him perfectly suited to Star Wars, and for this new slate of movies that reach beyond the core characters and storylines of Episodes I through IX.”

Trank states, “The magic of the Star Wars Universe defined my entire childhood. The opportunity to expand on that experience for future generations is the most incredible dream of all time.”

Trank previously directed Chronicle and is currently at work on The Fantastic Four for 20th Century Fox.

Last month, it was announced that Godzilla helmer Gareth Edwards will direct the first “Star Wars” stand-alone movie hitting theaters on December 16, 2016.

So how do I feel about this news? Pretty intrigued to be honest. When I read this I was like “Damn, already? They got another director for new Star Wars film and it’s Josh Trank? Man those people at Disney and Lucasfilm are fact!” This announcement yesterday totally threw me off and I was not expecting it. But it is a good choice and an interesting one. I’ve said before and I’ll say it again, I really loved Chronicle, Trank’s direction with that film was great and with just that one film I was so excited to see what he’d do in the future. Now he’s working on 20th Century Fox’s The Fantastic Four, a film that has me very scared, vary and but also curiously optimistic. To be honest I’d really have to see what he does with FF before I can tell whether he can handle something like a Star Wars stand-alone film. But at the same time I’d like to think he has the talent and vision necessary to tackle SW and he must be doing something right if the people at Disney and Lucasfilm want him right? Seems like they’re definitely after young talent with these newer films, let’s hope it pays off.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “LATE NEWS PART 1: Josh Trank to Direct Stand-Alone Star Wars Film

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
