RSS

Gareth Edwards Is Set To Direct A Star Wars Spinoff & Godzilla 2!

24 May

Good day to you ladies and gents, time for some late film news. Now today I’m gonna give you a double news feature purely because both stories involve the same man, Gareth Edwards and it’ll save me posting twice which seems pointless.

Moet British Independent Film Awards 2010 - Arrivals

Anyways let’s talk news starting with Star Wars, the following info comes from superherohype:

Godzilla director Gareth Edwards is attached to direct one of the upcoming Star Wars spinoff films, which will feature a screenplay by Gary Whitta and is now set to hit theaters December 16, 2016! The official announcement reads as follows:

In addition to the episodes of a new “Star Wars” trilogy, Lucasfilm and Disney have begun development on multiple stand-alone movies that will offer new stories beyond the core Saga. Gareth Edwards will direct the first stand-alone film, with a screenplay by Gary Whitta. The film is due out December 16, 2016.

Gareth Edwards blazed into the filmmaking forefront with his acclaimed work on “Monsters,” a film he wrote, directed and served on as cinematographer and visual effects artist. The skill and vision readily apparent in “Monsters” earned him the high-profile spot directing this year’s smash hit “Godzilla”.

“Ever since I saw Star Wars I knew exactly what I wanted to do for the rest of my life – join the Rebel Alliance! I could not be more excited & honored to go on this mission with Lucasfilm”, said Edwards.

Gary Whitta’s screenwriting credits include 2010s “The Book of Eli” starring Denzel Washington. He is also well known as a journalist and editor in the video game industry, as well as part of the BAFTA award-winning team on Telltale Games adaptation of “The Walking Dead”.

Whitta states, “From the moment I first saw the original movie as a wide-eyed kid, “Star Wars” has been the single most profound inspiration to my imagination and to my career as a writer. It is deeply special to me,so to be given the opportunity to contribute to its ongoing legacy, especially in collaboration with a film-maker as talented as Gareth, is literally a dream come true. I’m still pinching myself.”

Well firstly I want to say good for him! Honestly this guy is going from strength to strength, who know that the same guy who directed an independent film like Monsters would then go on to helm Godzilla and then a Star Wars film? If you had told me that around 3 years ago I would have given you the weirdest look ever and said, “Really?” However this proves that the man has talent, that hs isn’t just a throwaway filmmaker, that he is someone who studios want to work with and with his recent success with Godzilla I’m not surprised in a way. I’m just happy for him and from the sounds of his words in this article he’s pretty hyped up himself. All that being said I am curious about two things; 1) Which spin-off will he be directing? And 2) How will Edwards fit into it? What I mean is, depending on which spin-off film we get we shall then see if Edwards is a good fit for it or not, my money’s on a Boba Fett film just because that seems like the most logical and film best suited to Edwards. But I guess only time will tell.

Now let’s talk Godzilla, the following info comes from superherohype:

The big news of the day is that Godzilla helmer Gareth Edwards will be directing a mystery Star Wars film for release on December 16, 2016. What does that mean, though, for another big screen adventure with the King of Monsters? ShockTillYouDrop.com has an update straight from Legendary Pictures CEO Thomas Tull.

“Gareth’s filmmaking talent makes him one of his generation’s most creative and visionary directors,” says Tull. “The plan has always been for Gareth to direct a different film before we started on another ‘Godzilla,’ but who knew it would be a ‘Star Wars’ installment? We have a great plan in store for ‘Godzilla’ fans and I am looking forward to seeing Gareth’s imprint on the ‘Star Wars’ universe.”

The Hollywood Reporter goes on to say that Edwards is attached not only for a Godzilla sequel, but for a full Godzilla trilogy.

So thankfully this question got answered fairly quickly. I think for some fans, we were concerned that with Edwards landing a job on a new Star Wars spin-off film that he’d left Godzilla’s sequel in the dust, but thankfully just hearing from Thomas Tull that Edwards will be back for a sequel makes me breathe a sigh of relief. Now obviously things can change and we could lose Edwards depending on the scheduling of this next Star Wars project, but  would like to think that Edwards could come back and deliver some more monster madness with a Godzilla sequel because he knows the source material and it would be a shame for him to leave just after its gotten going.

So what do you think of this news? Are you pleased or concerned for future of Star Wars or Godzilla or both? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya later! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Gareth Edwards Is Set To Direct A Star Wars Spinoff & Godzilla 2!

  1. kierontownend

    May 24, 2014 at 4:39 pm

    I haven’t caught Monsters or Godzilla yet, but I’ve heard good things about both. One idea for a spin off I read about was a Jedi take on the seven samurai story. I think it was Zack Snyder’s idea, but I see no problem with Edwards tackling that idea.

     
  2. lauren

    May 26, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    I’m glad Edwards is doing well, although I wasn’t as into Godzilla I still think he is a great talent.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
