RSS

Apparently The Cast For The Fantastic Four Have Been Confirmed!

20 Feb

Howdy ladies and gents, time for an important news update in the world of comic book films. For the longest time now I and a number of fans have been worried about the upcoming Fantastic Four film set to come out in 2015. At first it was great when Josh Trank was signed on to direct, been the casting rumours started, the internet set ablaze with controversy spreading left right and center and with the recent story synopsis rumours floating around, that hasn’t done anything to dampen the fire.

Now according to some sources 20th Century Fox have confirmed the cast for the film and the end result has confirmed our worst nightmares.

The following news story comes from the ever-reliable superherohype:

First-Family

(Photo Credit: FayesVision / WENN.com)

Twentieth Century Fox has cast Marvel’s First Family! Jamie Bell, Michael B. Jordan, Kate Mara and Miles Teller are Josh Trank’s The Fantastic FourTheWrap broke the news, confirming months of rumors surrounding the involvement of Jordan, Mara and Teller and were the first to name Jamie Bell as the studio’s choice for Ben Grimm, aka The Thing. Bell seems to be the only one without an official offer on the table, but it is very much expected that he will be confirmed by the studio shortly.

Teller will play Reed Richards (Mr. Fantastic), Mara will be Sue Storm (The Invisible Woman), Jordan is set to play Johnny Storm (The Human Torch) and Bell (likely through motion-capture) would be Ben Grimm (The Thing). Previous reports have suggested that Trank’s iteration of the story also involves Dr. Victor Von Doom, so expect more casting on The Fantastic Four very soon.

Filming on The Fantastic Four is expected to begin in Baton Rouge this March. Josh Trank will direct the big screen adaptation, which is currently set for release on June 19, 2015​.”

Jesus Christ. Where to begin. You know how you have that sneaking suspicion in your mind that you about bad things before they happen, well that was my feeling about the casting for this film. I woke up this morning to see this official news story and to be honest I kind of flipped out. It seems like the casting for comic book films is getting more and more bizarre in the last 3 years. I think film studios are actually doing this on purpose to get a rise out of the fans. I mean look at Warner Bros. and their casting on Man of Steel 2, first the internet blew up about Ben Affleck, then Gal Gadot and just recently Jesse Eisenberg. Now 20th Century Fox are playing the same game and to be honest if they wanted to get attention, they bloody well accomplished that job.

Okay let’s talk about this casting a little bit. In a way I had a feeling that some of these people would be cast, mainly Michael B. Jordan and Miles Teller. From all the casting rumours surrounding them I could only assume that they’d been chosen already. Jordan has been talked about for this role for around a year and since no one else was in the running I feared the worst and now it has come true. Now I love Jordan as an actor, he’s great, but him as the Johnny Storm is just so random. Miles Teller, I never seen any of his work as far as I know and he doesn’t really have the look of a Reed Richards. And Jamie Bell, another good another good actor, but not sure if he fits the profile for Ben Grimm. The only person I’m down with is Kate Mara, she seems like a capable actress to take on Sue Storm.

The main reason why this bugs me so much is because of the radical changes going on. Why do the FF team seem so young? Why did have to change the race of one of the main characters? What is the thought process behind these kinds of decisions?

Now I am all for change in the world of comic book film adaptations, it has been happening a lot in the last 6 years, but for me there has to be a reason why these changes are being made and I don’t see it. Are the public that bored with seeing average-aged actors portraying comic book characters? Is Johnny Storm that dull of a character that we have to change his race to make him relevant? Or is someone gonna give me the argument that “Oh we live in 2014, times are different let’s embrace change.” To that I say bullshit. If something wasn’t broken to begin with why change it up now? It baffles me to no end.

I hate to rant so heavily because I’m not a massive comic book purist, that being said there is a magic and sense of wonder to seeing great adaptations of your favourite childhood characters getting their own live-action film and if that adaptation blows, it hurts. I don’t want this film to suck, I actually want an amazing film, but this casting has really bothered me. This film is gonna have to do something incredible to win me over and if it does succeed I will gladly take back anything I said about it. RoboCop proved me wrong, the upcoming Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is shifting my opinion too, so there may be hope. But as of right now I’m not down for this.

Now I open the floor to you, what do you think of this news? Are you down with the casting or are you disappointed. Also do you agree with my opinion or do you think I’m dead wrong, comment below yo.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2014 in Films, Media, Rant

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Apparently The Cast For The Fantastic Four Have Been Confirmed!

  1. avengerosco

    February 20, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Sniff… Sniff… Smell that??? Smells like bullshit to me.

     
  2. myreelpov

    February 20, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I was pretty surprised when I saw the line up. Very random indeed. But you know – at first I thought Eisenberg was totally wrong for Lex Luther but having seen a picture and know he can do dead pan nasty pretty well I am quite looking forward to that. So maybe give them a little time on this one – they might surprise you! I am so NOT down with Gadot thought, whaaaaaat?! They are going to have to pull something out of the bag there. Not to be stereotypical but she really doesn’t have the figure to start with?!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 21, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      I know, I’ve calmed down recently and I am willing to give them a chance because they are talented people. That being said I have nothing against them specifically, I just don’t like them being cast in the roles, And yeah Gal Gadot is gonna have to pull something out of the bag to make me believe that she’ll be the powerful female that she is in the comics.

       
  3. Tim The Film Guy

    February 21, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Seem a bit young but ok.

     
  4. lauren

    February 23, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    I like the four people as actors but not sure about they are right for the roles. I’m not sure why they had to go younger, after all Tony Stark is one of the most popular superheros at the moment and Robert Downey Jr is in his forties.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 23, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      Yeah the cast are good there is no denying that, my problem is that they seem so young and out of place for their characters. I feel like changes are being brought into these upcoming comic book films without any proper rhyme or reason.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
