RSS

My Thoughts on the 2014 BAFTA Winners

17 Feb

Howdy ladies and gents, I have arisen from the depths of the earth to make a new film post. So the BAFTAs have come and gone and while I didn’t tune in to watch it because my TV was occupied by my family, I still read up on the winners and just wanted to deliver my thoughts.

bafta

Well the winners of this year’s BAFTAs was certainly unexpected and had a few surprises which is ultimately a good thing because the people who give out these awards obviously could see the talent in some of these films that weren’t just the favourite choices to win big.

Right now have a look at the full list of winners below:

Best Film: 12 Years a Slave

Outstanding British Film: Gravity

Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Leading Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Leading Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actor: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Original Screenplay: American Hustle

Adapted Screenplay: Philomena

Animated Film: Frozen

Documentary: The Act of Killing

Film Not in the English Language: The Great Beauty

Outstanding Debut: Kieran Evans, Victor + Kelly

Cinematography: Gravity

Visual Effects: Gravity

Original Music: Gravity

Make-Up & Hair: American Hustle

Costume Design: The Great Gatsby

Production Design: The Great Gatsby

Sound: Gravity

Editing: Rush

British Short Film: Room 8

British Short Animation: Sleeping With The Fishes

Rising Star: Will Poulter

Outstanding Contribution to British Cinema: Peter Greenaway

BAFTA Fellowship: Helen Mirren

So it seems like Gravity got a lot of love last night winning in several awards including British outstanding film, cinematography, visual effects, music, sound and best director. For some of those awards it is a given like visual effects and cinematography, which to be fair are rightfully won because the film really was unmatched in those areas. I’m also happy it got recognized for its great soundtrack, I really loved it especially at the end of the film.

12 Years a Slave at got least the two awards that I hope for, best film and best actor for my man Chiwetel Ejiofor. Other awards I’m happy with include Barkhad Abdi getting best supporting actor for his work in Captain Phillips, well deserved in my opinion. And even though Rush only got an award in editing, the film did have so great editing so it is nice to see it be recognized for something.

And then there are the rest which I don’t really care about or didn’t see so I can’t give an opinion. Jennifer Lawrence for me wasn’t that great in American Hustle, I didn’t see Blue Jasmine unfortunately, but I can guess that Cate Blanchett did a good enough job to earn her award. Frozen was a given for the animation award and The Act of Killing is a really good documentary that I’ll have to check out at some point considering the critical praise it’s getting.

As for the Oscars that’s coming up in a few weeks, I dunno if I’ll tune in and watch it online again because that takes a lot of effort and while this year will be a close call, I’m not sure I’ll get the result I want. I guess we’ll see what happens.

Well that’s my quick thoughts on this years BAFTA winners, nota bad turn out in my opinion. What did you think of the winners? Right down your thoughts in the comments below.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Thoughts on the 2014 BAFTA Winners

  1. lauren

    February 18, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    I was really happy for Chiwetel Ejiofor, about time he got some recognitition. Also happy that Gravity got so many awards.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 18, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      I know right? He is finally being seen for his talent, I can only hope that’ll translatye towards the Oscars, but there is some fierce competition in the lead actor department. As for Gravity I guess I’m happy about it haha.

       
  2. myreelpov

    February 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Seems like most of the film highlights of last year got a mention for one award or another, pretty even apart from (in my opinion totally overrated) Gravity. Rush probably should have got a little more praise but glad that American Hustle was awarded – even if there was hell to pay on Twitter when it happened. Thanks for the over view anyway I hadn’t got around to looking at the final results yet 🙂

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 18, 2014 at 6:59 pm

      Pretty much, however, I feel like a lot of awards were a little unexpected which was nice. I didn’t see Gravity getting so many awards, but like I said before most of them were technical so it was to be expected really. I would have liked to have seen more love for Rush, but it was among a sea of great films. When it comes to American Hustle, I can see the fuss that some can make about it, but I feel like the whole moaning about the film has passed (well at least until the Oscars comes along).

      Also no problem, gotta deliver the news and let people know my thoughts. Thanks for swinging by yo. 😀

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
