RSS

Favourite Songs #30: David Bowie – Life On Mars?

17 Feb

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 30th edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Can’t believe I’ve made it to 30 posts already, though I think we can go further! Anyway today I’m going to talk about my favourite songs from college in form of David Bowie’s “Life on Mars?“.

lifeonmarsIt has been around 5 or 6 years since I first come across this song and it has stuck in my mind as one of my favourite songs of not only David Bowie but also of the 1970’s.

Just have a listen to the tune below:

As I mentioned before I first came across this song around 5 or 6 years ago, probably was 2008 during my media course in college. Part of our course required us to listen to concept albums and Bowie’s The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars and it was an interesting listening experience. I think a short time after I came across “Life on Mars?” and I think it got stuck in my head ever since.

From what I know this is one of Bowie’s classic songs and it easy to hear why. The song is a beautiful anthem with great lyrics and a wonderful melody that carries throughout the song. The song starts out very softy with the piano and then builds up and then bursts in the chorus where the piano and violins kick happen with an epic sound. The song finds this wonderful balance between feeling grand and melancholy too. I don’t know why but after listening to it the one time, you always want to go back for another listen not too long afterwards.

I’m not sure why I love this song so much. Maybe it is because it reminds me of better days in college or maybe it is because of the addictive nature of the song’s intro and chorus. I think I can say that this is my third favourite Bowie song behind “Modern Love” and “Rebel Rebel“.

So to conclude “Life of Mars?” by David Bowie is an incredible song that is just delight on the ears and makes me feel just slightly better about life after each listen. If you were to ever start listening to Bowie I would start with this song as it is one of the best I believe and I can’t recommend it enough! 🙂

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
