RSS

Favourite Songs #29: The Raconteurs – Steady, As She Goes

27 Jan

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 29th edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today I’m gonna continue the phase of my favourite songs from my teenage days  with The Raconteurs with ” Steady, As She Goes“.

Ah man this was one of the strangest and yet most addictive songs back when I first came across it and I never forgot it since. Just have a listen to this tune below:

Again I return to 2006 when this song was released and I first heard it while I was on holiday in Canada. Back when I still watched music videos for songs, this song by The Raconteurs came on and what followed was one of the strangest music videos I had ever seen. Sure it was just a bunch of adult men racing in a soap box race with one of the them playing dirty, but it was just bizarre and at the time I didn’t know what was going on, but what I did know was that the song was awesome and never forgot it afterwards and whenever I would sing the chorus it would annoy my sister haha.

So why do I like the song so much? Well from the time the song starts up, the drums are in play, then it hooks you with a lovely bass line, then the guitars and then it all comes together with Jack White’ vocals and then when the song drops and the chorus hits I fall in love. Alternative rock is one of my favourite genres of music ever and this band future cemented that fact with their beautiful instrumentation in this song which is cool and yet aggressive and loud. The lyrics are also are very nice and easy to remember especially that chorus, that along with the music helps craft a song that is instantly nice on the ear and addictive. Plus it also helps that Jack White’s vocals carry the song so well too, I’ve always liked White’s material when he was part of The White Stripes but I never became a fan of his until he formed this band because their sound was more in line with what I liked.

I fell in love with the song, but never started listening to it properly until 2008 when I got into The Raconteurs by listening to both of their albums Broken Boy Solider and Consolers Of The Lonely. with the former being one of my favourite listening experiences of that year. Then I listened to the song on and off until I came to uni and started listening to the band again and got REALLY into them and with that “Steady, As She Goes” became one of those songs I just couldn’t leave without.

So to conclude “Steady, As She Goes” by The Raconteurs is just a badass song with a loud and aggressive presence, but has wonderful lyrics and awesome instruments that make it a song you’ll want to come back to again and again after your first listen. I highly recommend it yo. 🙂

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2014 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Favourite Songs #29: The Raconteurs – Steady, As She Goes

  1. liamdoesfilm

    January 27, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    This is great to play on Guitar Hero…. thought I’d put that out there 🙂

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 27, 2014 at 10:06 pm

      Haha nice. I think I may have actually played it too you know, I’m not quite sure because there was a lot of GH during my college years lol. 😛

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
