RSS

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Makes Deathlok Plans!

24 Jan

Alrighty then time for some more Marvel news and this one is a bit of a crazy one as we have new info from Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. which really changes the perspective of not only the way the show has gone down so far but also how it will proceed too. The following info comes from superherohype:

deathlok-header

Marvel has just revealed that one of their classic comic book characters is not only set to make an appearance to “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”, but that he’s actually been a part of the show since the very first episode. J. August Richards’ Mike Peterson will, in the February 4th episode, become the cybernetic soldier Deathlok!

Deathlok, Marvel’s cyborg assassin, celebrates his 40th anniversary this year. Formerly considered for a big screen film, Deathlok’s role on “S.H.I.E.L.D.” is officially described as follows:

Transformed into the cybernetic solider against his will, Mike Peterson must struggle to find the man in the machine. With a high-tech eye that allows him to see through walls, super strength and increased speed courtesy of a cybernetic leg, will Deathlok fight alongside the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or against them?

“We have been waiting all season for this moment where we can reveal that Mike Peterson’s story arc is an origin story,” said Executive Producer Jeffrey Bell. “We’re thrilled to have J. August Richards playing Deathlok and to have our audience enjoy this favorite Marvel character on the show.”

“If you would have asked when I was nine years old what I wanted to be, I would have said a super hero and I’m so excited to be one now as an adult on TV!” added J. August Richards. “It’s a dream come true.”

Titled “T.R.A.C.K.S.”, the February 4th episode is the series’ 13th overall. The 15th episode, meanwhile, was previously announced to feature Jaimie Alexander reprising her Thor and Thor: The Dark World role as Lady Sif.

“Sif will come to Earth to track down Lorelei, a villain from Walter Simonson’s Thor run,” reads an official Tweet update from Marvel’s TCA presentation. Elena Satine (“Magic City”) will play the Asgardian foe.”

Okay let’s start with the main news story about Mike Peterson… Damn! He’s not just a regular new character, but a new guy disguised as an established Marvel Comic villain. Sneaky! To think that the producers have had that planned out since the beginning is mad, seems like Marvel really do plan ahead. Now obviously many have speculated since before the show began that Peterson was more than he seemed, but to think he was getting set up for a villain-based role was something I could not have suspected at all. So how do I feel about this? Happy and yet slightly let down. Firstly I’m happy that the character is gonna become someone related to the comics and will have more significance, however I’m kind of gutted that he could not have remained a unique character and been built up to me an original and cool member of the MCU. Well I guess it’s better than him being Luke Cage in my opinion.

And then there’s the extra bit of news in form of a bit more information about episode 15 involving the return of Lady Sif and now why she’s coming to Earth. There’s another Asgardian, and she’s female! Yay! Now I make it no secret that Thor’s world is one of my favourite elements of the MCU and anything to do with Asgard is welcome in my book and the fact that we’re seeing focus on another female Asgardian who isn’t Sif or the now-deceased Frigga is a great thing for me. Bring on the females! Tell me this Lorelei will be tied to Enchantress or something, PLEASE! XD

Anyways there’s my input on this news, what do you all think? Drop your thoughts in the comments below. 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 24, 2014 in Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
