RSS

The Fantastic Four Screenplay Completed, More Actors Testing This Month

22 Jan

Alrighty then, time to talk about some news relating to the upcoming Fantastic Four reboot. Even though I’m not exactly happy about the way in which this film is turning out, this latest story I thought needed to be reported on my blog. The following info comes from superherohype:

Fantastic Four 517cov_colREV

Variety reports that screenwriter Simon Kinberg has completed his re-write of Fox’s The Fantastic Four reboot and that they’re looking to finalize the film’s cast shortly. The site notes that actors will continue testing for roles in the film later this month, including Miles Teller, Kit Harington and Richard Madden for Reed Richards aka Mr. Fantastic, and Kate Mara and Saoirse Ronan for Sue Storm aka The Invisible Woman.

As previously mentioned, the only name reported for the Johnny Storm/Human Torch role is Chronicle‘s Michael B. Jordan. No names have been mentioned for the Ben Grimm/The Thing role, though Terry Crews says he wants it.

Filming on the reboot is expected to begin in Baton Rouge this March. Josh Trank will direct the big screen adaptation, which is currently set for release on June 19, 2015​.”

Okay so the script is done, whoopie doo. I’m not overly concerned about that, what I wanna know is who will be playing these characters.

For me the Fantastic Four are one of the best superhero groups in all of comics, there is a wonderful family dynamic about their group, plus their powers are all really unique and cool and lead themselves to some cool team-up abilities. This group needs a proper film adaptation. Tim Story and 20th Century tried it almost 10 years ago and failed (nuff love for Chris Evans though!), so now that we’re in an age where comic book films are handled a little more seriously, there could be a good chance we could get a good adaptation… Provided that the filmmakers don’t fuck it up!

You see ever since the film was announced I was half and half about it; I would like to see FF done justice, but at the same time I don’t care because I have good movies from The Avengers to Batman and X-Men to keep me company you know? At first when Josh Trank was brought on to direct, I thought we were onto something incredible… But then subsequent stories and rumours afterwards has led me to believe that this new take on the FF source material may be in trouble. We start getting all these crazy stories like:

  • Michael B. Jordan wants to be Johnny Storm
  • Johnny and Sue Storm may be black
  • Johnny might be an adopted brother she will explain why he’s black and Sue is white
  • Oh the FF group may be multi-racial
  • Now they’re looking for younger actors to play younger versions of the group

WHAT THE ACTUAL HELL MAN? Now I’m all for change and innovation in comic book films, but we need to slow down and take things slow.

Firstly let’s talk about race. Changing the race of a character is a big deal. some say that it isn’t as long as the character personality remains the same and some have said they’re played with the race of characters before such as Heimdall from Thor, Kingpin from Daredevil and Perry White from Man of Steel, but the difference there was that they weren’t the main characters. Plus it just messes with the continuity of the comics and other media adaptations. And to me if they do make Johnny Storm black I don’t feel like there will be any proper reasoning behind it, all I’m seeing from this current rumour is “We live in the 21st century, to change things up and make traditionally white characters another race, why? Because we want to be multicultural.” And again that’s all and well but I’d rather have a character’s race changed if it served the story rather than just being “fresh and out-of-the-blue”.

As for the younger cast, that is a prospect that scares me. I don’t want no FF babies. I want adults taking on the world dammit! I feel like the age change is just an excuse to capitalize on the success of X-Men: First Class and their younger actors. The same rules don’t apply to the Fantastic Four, I feel like if their young the filmmakers will make them silly, childish, reckless and lack the charisma, charm, depth and maturity that comes from the group in the comics. Plus some of the casting choices are just crazy:

Teller, Harrington, Madden-ReedRichards

Here we have the current candidates for Mr Reed Richards, a very important role to fill and these actors are Miles Teller, Kit Harington and Richard Madden. Tiller I’ve never really seen, but Harrington and Madden we all know from Game of Thrones as John Snow and Rob Stark. I’m not sure if I really get a Reed Richards vibe from any of them, especially not Teller. But if I had to choose I’d go with Harrington, he’s awesome and has a pretty good face and acting skills.

And then there’s the choices for Sue Storm:

Mara, Roran-SueStormMy goodness these ladies look young. Kate Mara I’ve not really seen her in many films whereas Saoirse Ronan I’ve seen in a few. Honestly Saoirse Ronan I can’t see in this role purely because she looks and is so young, plus I dunno if this is the kind of rough and tumble action film that she could handle. I mean whose to say she can’t surprise us? But as it stands I can’t see her jumping on the superhero bandwagon any time soon. On the other hand Mara I think has the potential, while she would be my first choice she kind of reminds me of thinner Hayley Atwell and that is not on a bad thing at all. Either way Sue Storm is beautiful, yet very powerful figure in the group and with her abilities and that casting will also be bloody crucial.

Okay mini rant over. Sorry to go so overboard with my comments here but in truth this is something that concerns me, if the casting for this film is just the slightest bit off then we could be looking at another questionable film here.

So what do you think of the recent news and how do you think the production of the Fantastic Four is going so far? Are you down with it or are you concerned? Also do you think I’m right or just completely out of my mind? Whatever your thoughts are drop them below yo.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Fantastic Four Screenplay Completed, More Actors Testing This Month

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    January 22, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    They all look younger than me. Baby fantastic four 😦

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
