RSS

Films To Look Out For In 2014 Part 3

17 Jan

Howdy ladies and gentlemen and welcome to PART 2 of Films to look out for in 2014! In this series of blog posts I’ll basically be listing a number of films that you should keep your eyes on over the course of the year.  If you missed part one and part two then check those out and come here when you’re down.

The Rules:

  1. Obviously a lot films come out, so if they’re not only my list it’s either because I don’t know about them or I don’t care.
  2. 2013 films getting their UK releases this year don’t count! 😛

Alrighty then, let’s start 😀

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Release Date: July 11th (USA), July 17th (UK)

Trailer:

This is on my high priorities list of films to see this year. Rise of the Planet of the Apes was a surprisingly strong, action-packed and heartfelt reboot of the franchise that gave enough nods to the past while having a few new ideas to make the film its own thing. Dawn looks like it’ll be chaotic and start create the shift that’ll lead to the eventual ape take over that we all know will eventually go down. The teaser looks dark and gritty, the cast is awesome and I’m expecting some cool stuff from Caesar and his crew.

Jupiter Ascending

Release Date: July 18th (USA), 25th (UK)

get-futuristic-jupiter-ascending-movie-trailer-poster-2

Trailer:

Well this film certainly looks interesting and if there’s one thing you can’t knock The Wachowskis for is their continued levels of creativity and crazy visual experiences. This film looks like classic sci-fi with a few new things in the mix. I like Mila Kunis and Channing Tatum is growing on me these days, the film does loo a bit strange and it could be either surprisingly good or really questionable, guess we’ll later on in the year.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Release Date: August 1st (USA & UK)

hr_Guardians_of_the_Galaxy_9

Unfortunately at this current point in time there is no official trailer for this film which SUCKS, however if you were lucky enough to see the Comic-Con teaser trailer when it leaked online then you know that this film looks special and totally unique with its interesting sense of humour and action scenes. GotG could be my most anticipated film of the year just because it looks pretty insane and promises to be a superhero adventure unlike any other that Marvel have given us before. Everything that is said about the film sounds incredible, I just want the film to kick ass and be the success that it should be.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Release Date: August 8th (USA), October 17th (UK)

Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles-2014-Movie-Set-Image-2

Now this is a film I’ve been really against ever since Michael Bay’s involvement and then once Megan Fox got cast I think I just mentally throw up and even the after the set pictures were released didn’t help much. However for the hate and animosity I feel towards the production of this film, I still want to see a good Ninja Turtles film, it can be done and with the right kind of care and attention it could be amazing. I seriously want this film to work, but I can’t help but feel like it’s on the path to hell. Can’t believe we’ll have to wait until fucking OCTOBER to see this while everyone else gets this film in August, I may not be overly with the way the film is shaping up but that’s bullshit! Better get a trailer soon.

The Expendables 3

Release Date: August 15th (USA & UK)

Trailer:

It is no secret that I love action films and while The Expendables 1 and 2 are pretty silly, absurd and lack any form of interesting plots, they’re still pretty fun films. Seeing kick ass action stars teaming up and beating the crap of other guys through hand-to-hand combat or an assortment of weaponry is stuff I’m down for. This cast looks incredible and I’m just curious to know what they’re gonna do with the new additions especially finally seeing Wesley Snipes back on-screen for the first time in YEARS! 🙂

Sin City: A Dame To Kill For

Release Date: August 22nd (USA), 29th (UK)

SIN-CITY2-POSTER_510

The only justification I have for me wanting to see this film is that the first film was awesome and now I wanna see the sequel. I highly doubt that it’ll be as good as the 2005 film, but the cast look pretty solid and if the filmmakers are somehow able to capture the magic from the last film then we’ll have a good sequel.

The Boxtrolls

Release Date: September 26th (USA) 12th (UK)

MV5BMTM5OTUxNTc4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzI5Nzk3OQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Trailer:

So far the animation studio Laika have yet to make a bad film. Coraline and Paranorman are both key examples of how to be a fine stop motion film and make it fun and engaging for all audiences. Laika’s film’s also look incredible with the most absurd attention to detail that I’ve ever seen and this film looks like it’ll follow suite too. Whether it’ll be as good as their previous efforts remains to seen, all I know is that they have a new film and I’ll be there to watch it opening weekend. 🙂

Interstellar

Release Date: November 7th (USA & UK)

MV5BMTM5Mzc2OTc2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzkxOTk3MDE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Trailer:

Okay, here we have another Christopher Nolan film and finally its NOT Batman, yay! Chris Nolan is a director who hasn’t made a misstep as a director yet so I hope that this new film follows that trend. Even though the teaser trailer tells you absolutely NOTHING about the film and cannot engage anyone who isn’t in the know about the film or the director, I’m sure it’ll do well.

Dumb and Dumber To

Release Date: November 14th (USA), December 19th (UK)

dumb-and-dumber-to-jim-carrey-jeff-daniels1

Now under normal circumstances I’d totally dismiss a sequel to a film that only a certain number of people from a specific decade would remember, however I will make an exception with this film. I’m not sure if it is nostalgia talking or natural curiosity that is drawing me towards this sequel, I think it’s a bit of both, either way I hope that this follow-up with worth our time and not another failure from Hollywood as they continue to push out their sequels, remakes and reboots.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Release Date: November 21st (USA & UK)

catching-fire02

If you had asked me this time last year, “Would you be looking forward to the next few Hunger Games film sequels?” I would have said no straight up. But after the really good Catching Fire, I really wanna know where they go with the story and find out how Katniss ends up after the end of the last film. I want more danger, more drama and more footage from the other districts. Don’t let me down now Mockingjay – Part 1!

The Hobbit: There and Back Again

Release Date: December 17th (USA), 19th (UK)

Smaug-Dragon-The-Hobbit-Desolation-of-Smaug-movie-wallpaper

Now I dunno about you, but The Desolation of Smaug was pretty much awesome thanks to one key aspect, a big massive dragon voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch! Don’t get me wrong, I really loved the like the last Hobbit film with all of its action and additional character development, but Smaug really made the film for me. So I’m curious how this Hobbit trilogy will be concluded later on this year, I just hope it’ll be satisfactory and not feel like a cop-out.

And that is it! PROJECT OVER! That is the rest of my picks for films to look out for from August straight through til December! So yeah there’s my picks from the summer, make sure to come back to the blog asap as I finish the year off with part 3! 🙂

P.S. What do you think of the list? Also is there any films you think I’ve left out? Feel free to drop me a comment below and I’ll get back to you asap. Until the next time, peace out! 😀

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Films To Look Out For In 2014 Part 3

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    January 17, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Good list, got a few of your trailers mixed up 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 17, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      Bloody hell, thanks for the call out on that one, I used the last part as a template but forgot to change the first few trailers over. I’m such a melon. 😛

       
      • Tim The Film Guy

        January 19, 2014 at 1:12 pm

        Your welcome, at least you know I read your posts 😀

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
