RSS

Films To Look Out For In 2014 Part 1

11 Jan

Howdy to you ladies and gentlemen of the north, south, east and west and welcome to the first part of a special series of blog posts. 2014 looks like it’ll be a good year for films and there is a lot to look to look forward to and since I did it last year, I feel like it is my duty to share with you my list of Films to look out for in 2014! I will basically be listing a number of films that you should keep your eyes on over the course of the year. Obviously a lot films come out, so if they’re not only my list it’s either because I don’t know about them or I don’t care… Oh and one last thing, 2013 films getting their UK releases this year don’t count! 😛

Alrighty then, let’s start 😀

Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit

Release Date: January 17th (USA), 24th (UK)

Trailer:

I’ve been following this film since the first trailer came out and I’m excited and curious to see if this film will be good or not. It is established to main franchise of films (of which I’ve never seen) and it is a reboot so it has a lot to live up to. All I know is Kenneth Branagh is directing who I really like Chris Pine is cool and I want to see him excel in a main role that’s not related to Star Trek. If this film works then I’ll be happy.

The Lego Movie

Release Date: February 7th (USA), 14th (UK)

Trailer:

To be honest before around a month or 2 ago I had no interest in this film whatsoever. I just saw this film as another addition to the endless amount of Lego stuff that exists in the world right now. But then I saw the trailer in the cinema and to my surprise it looked pretty interesting. Unlike the video games and some of the previous animated films it is in a stop motion style of animation, plus there is some creative visual imagery, some funny dialogue and an impressive voice cast. However I’m cautiously optimistic because I feel like this could just be a silly kids film with unnecessary and silly pop culture references, but I guess we’ll see in February right?

The Monuments Men

Release Date: February 7th (USA), 21st (UK)

Trailer:

I only saw the trailer for this a few little earlier this week when I went to the cinema and after I watched it I thought it looked really good, so it definitely has my interest. The cast looks great and the story seems like it’ll be an interesting watch with a good balance between drama and humour.

RoboCop (2014)

Release Date: February 12th (USA), 7th (UK)

Trailer:

Now I have ranted/hated on this film since the set pictures were released many moons ago, however the trailers had slightly, ever so SLIGHTLY caught my attention. I’m a massive fan of the first 1987 film and I don’t believe a reboot/remake is necessary, however it’s happening, so I’m just gonna check it out for the sake of my curiosity. I’m just saying now I’m not expecting much.

Mr. Peabody & Sherman

Release Date: March 7th (USA), February 7th (UK)

Trailer:

This is another one of those films I knew nothing about until I went to the cinema and saw the trailer before seeing Frozen last year. The concept behind the film seems enticing enough and I love time travel and when it gets tampered with so there’s that, I just hope that this is a good Dreamworks film and not another one of those sub par animated films because we already get enough of those these days (I’m looking at you Planes).

Need For Speed

Release Date: March 14th (USA & UK)

Trailer:

Even though I MUCH PREFER the first trailer for this film because the tone, visual imagery and music which was much more dramatic and effective, this trailer does show off more of the story, character motives and car chases. Besides the fact that the cinematography for these car chases look incredible and I wanna see a good adaptation of the NFS video games, the only other thing that makes this worth watching is Aaron Paul aka Jesse Pinkman from Breaking Bad. 🙂 I really want this film to kick ass, please god make it happen.

Noah

Release Date: March 28th (USA & UK)

Trailer:

Any film with Darren Aronofsky involved is worthy of my time. His films always tend to be very visual, deeply disturbing and emotional and they affect me in ways that not many other films can which is a good and bad thing. Anyways this trailer looks insane. I mean anyone who’s catholic or remotely knows about religion will know the story of Noah and his ark that he built, but this is taking the story in such a crazy, bold and interesting direction. I see drama, chaos, war and a fight for survival. Beautiful things, I hope that this’ll be another win for Aronofsky.

The Raid 2: Berandal

Release Date: March 28th (USA)

1546112_690265777670885_450757485_n

Trailer:

I heard so much about the first film when it dropped back in 2012 and I was really gutted I never got around to seeing it considering all th praise that it got. So the fact that it’s getting a sequel must a good thing right? Well by the time of this film’s release I would have seen the first film and be ready for this one (Yeah I still haven’t seen The Raid but I will soon, I promise lol). I this gets a UK date soon (because IMDB isn’t listing one right now 😦 lame!)

Okay well that’s it for part one with the films from now until the end of March. I know, it’s a short list right? But you know that I’m only saving the better stuff for future parts so be sure swing by again very soon for part 2! 😀

P.S. What do you think of the list? Also is there any films you think I’ve left out? Feel free to drop me a comment below and I’ll get back to you asap. Until the next time laters! 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Films To Look Out For In 2014 Part 1

  1. sidekickreviews

    January 11, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Nice picks. The only movies listed I’m not that interested in are Lego and Mr. Peabody & Sherman. The very first trailer I saw for Robocop didn’t get me excited but when I saw another trailer in the theatre I thought it might have potential. Watch Raid, it’s an awesome action/fighting movie! 🙂

     
  2. Tim The Film Guy

    January 13, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    Watching The Raid 2, RoboCop, The Monuments Men and The Lego Movie, good list 😀

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
