RSS

Favourite Songs #27: The Smashing Pumpkins – Tonight, Tonight

08 Jan

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 27th edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today we’re talking about a song I truly adore, it is a song that’s been with me for only a little while, it is a bloody beauty of a song!  The tune in question is “Tonight, Tonight” by Smashing Pumpkins.

Oh this song just makes me feel so happy, it reminds me of my days back at college and every time I hear it I fall in love all over again.

But before I go into detail have a listen to this tune below:

Now I had known about The Smashing Pumpkins since the late 90’s as a kid, but I didn’t start listening them until my late teens. During my days in college when I became fully accustomed with the world of rock music I first came across this song in a Smashing Pumpkins playlist. When I heard it I knew it was something special, strangely enough I was on and off the song until 2011 when I started listening to the Pumpkins properly.

Tonight, Tonight“, simply put is a beautiful song, a beautiful song with an epic and yet melancholy. The introduction is gorgeous with a beautiful sort of classical sound with the violins and the rock side of things with the guitars, it is a lovely combination. Then there are the lyrics which are so deep and emotional and along with the incredible music it is just an amazing sound that makes me want to cry at times.

One of the highlights from album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Since coming to uni I have rediscovered my love for this song along with other Smashing Pumpkins songs and “Tonight, Tonight” I have to listen to every once in a while because it is really addictive, but it is also very emotional and I feel like having that sad and yet happy feeling when I listen to this song on a good few occasions.

So to conclude “Tonight, Tonight” by Smashing Pumpkins is just a fantastic song will an emotional punch that sounds incredible and makes you wanna well up sometimes too. It is one of the finest songs I know from a rock band that isn’t overly heavy and has the power to be soft and yet epic. If you haven’t experienced this song yet then go have a listen because it is lovely. 🙂

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Favourite Songs #27: The Smashing Pumpkins – Tonight, Tonight

  1. CMrok93

    January 8, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    One of my favorites as well. Heck, the album also ranks up there as well!

     
  2. Anna (Film Grimoire)

    January 8, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    I remember watching this video as a kid and being so freaked out by the moon’s face! Fell in love with this album as a teenager though. Great pick.

     
  3. sidekickreviews

    January 9, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Awesome song choice of the day. The video is a fantastic homage to the classic movie a Trip to the moon. Love how the music and lyrics are tinged with sadness and at the same time uplifting and empowering.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
