RSS

My Top Ten Film of 2013

27 Dec

My top 10 films

Howdy ladies and gents, since the year is almost over and I have seen pretty much all the films I can see this year, I think it’s about time that I release my 10 ten list of films this year. Now the following stuff is a segment from my End of Year Review which will be up very soon, so I thought I’d upload this first as a separate thing in case people miss it in the other blog post. But anyways I’ve talked too much, here’s my list:

When it comes to films, I thought this year was a pretty disappointing especially when compared to last year. There was so much promise of awesomeness and unforgettable material, however there was just a lack impact and presence when it came to a lot of the films this year. I even wrote a post about it a while ago. Now that’s not to say that 2013 was a complete waste of time, there were some really fun and impressive films on show that were on show and luckily made those days in the cinema not as painful.

Annoyingly just like last year there are films that came out this year that I’ll have to wait until next year for (12 Years as a Slave and American Hustle come to mind), but I’ve gotten used to the fact that the UK film distribution is totally unfair.

So it’s now time for my top 10, but before that keep in mind this was a frigging hard list to do and I’m only counting films released in 2013, films from 2012 that were released in 2013 for us UK residents DON’T COUNT! Okay here’s my list:

Top 10 Films of 2013

  1. Captain Philips
  2. Now You See Me
  3. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
  4. Iron Man 3
  5. Gravity
  6. Saving Mr. Banks
  7. Rush
  8. Thor: The Dark World
  9. Frozen
  10. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Honourable mentions:

When it comes to upcoming films I think that 2014 will be better, I’m praying for it. With epic titles like Godzilla, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Interstellar, Sabotage, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, X-Men: Days of Future Past and so much more, I’m sure that it has the potential to rectify the mistakes of this year.

So what do you think of my list? Do you like it or do you believe me to be insane with my choices? Are any of your favourites in there or are there ones I’ve missed out? Gimme your thoughts down below yo.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2013 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “My Top Ten Film of 2013

  1. myreelpov

    December 28, 2013 at 11:03 am

    That’s an interesting list dude, if I were to give my 2 cents I’d probably disagree with Gravity and Now You See Me, and probably put Hunger Games and Rush higher up the list! I am glad you put Saving Mr Banks up there as I got the feeling you were a little disappointed with it due to the hype. I still need to see Frozen!! Looking forward to your end of year review. I don’t think I will get chance to do one this year, nooooo!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      December 28, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks for commenting yo, as for the list it was hard to rank these films. I tried to list them in terms of enjoyment and how much I loved the film when I left the cinema the first/second times. Now You See Me was just a smartly made film and Gravity was just a bloody awesome visual experience in IMAX that I couldn’t let it escape the top 5. Oh and Saving Mr Banks was delightful and dramatic, it needed to make my list somehow. And yeah go watch Frozen its great! And lovely it’ll be up soon enough. 🙂

       
  2. Tim The Film Guy

    December 28, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Not bad, can’t argue with most of them 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 3, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      Cheers man, it was not an easy time constructing this list, I mean most of the choices I love, however put them in some sort of order was murder. 😛

       
  3. sidekickreviews

    December 29, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I still have to see 4 of the movies on your top ten list. I recently saw Cpt Phillips and it was so good. Tom Hanks was pretty brilliant especially in the final minutes. Great list, I might have to do one myself but there’s several movies I really want to see first like The Wolf on Wall Street.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 3, 2014 at 2:37 pm

      Hey dude thanks for swinging by! So glad you enjoyed Captain Philips, loved that film and yeah those final moments were SO crazy, the tension was killing me.

      Really wanna see The Wolf on Wall Street, but that doesn’t come out until January 17th over here in the UK. 😦

       
      • sidekickreviews

        January 4, 2014 at 6:46 am

        I saw Wolf on Wall Street the other day, it’s definitely in my top list. 🙂

         
      • Hypersonic55

        January 4, 2014 at 3:08 pm

        Ah man now that makes the wait for the film over here so unbearable! 😦

         
  4. lauren

    December 29, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Found Now You See Me a nbit disapointing and thought the latest Hobbit film was a bit hit and miss but otherwise a really good list.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 3, 2014 at 2:39 pm

      I tried to think of what films left a good impression on me and Now You See Me and The Hobbit Part 2 weren’t as perfect as I would have hoped, however they had to go on the list somewhere haha.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
