RSS

Marvel One-Shot Films That NEED To Happen!

21 Dec

This is something that has been on my mind after watching Thor: the Dark World a little while ago, the concept of there being Marvel one-shot films for minor/secondary characters. And the more I thought about it, the more I heard similar thoughts from other people online. Then IGN came along with this article which practically stole my idea with this article: http://uk.ign.com/articles/2013/12/01/minor-marvel-movie-characters-that-deserve-a-one-shot-short

Even though that list exists, that won’t stop me from making my own. so here we go with my list of Marvel One-Shot Films That NEED To Happen!

Sif and The Warriors Three

Warriors_three_&_sif

So as some of you may know, Thor was one of my favourite Phase One films and one of those reasons was Sif and the Warriors Three, I mean sure they were a bit strange and had only a small impact on the first film, but I really liked them. Jaimie Alexander’s Sif was this confident, strong and awesome female warrior and the Warriors Three had their individual aspects to like, Fandral the ladies man and charismatic fencing guy, Hogun the silent but deadly warrior and Volstagg the fat, hungry yet super strong dude. The reason I’m so attached to these characters is because of their comic book aspects that make them stand out and the potential awesomeness they could bring to the MCU.

Unfortunately after Thor film, each of those characters are pushed even more to the side than before in Thor 2 (ESPECIALLY HOGUN, WHAT THE HELL!?!) So with that in mind, I think Marvel should REALLY consider making a Marvel short for these characters to allow audiences to connect with them a bit more. Dive into their personalities, see them in battle a bit more and just hanging around Asgard, possibly touch upon Sif’s real feelings for Thor that have only been looked into a tiny bit. The short could involve them taking on an ancient enemy that they have to take out on their own without Thor which would demonstrate why they’re a force to be reckoned with.

The Howling Commandos

Howling_Commandos

Another group which I feel were completely wasted was the Howling Commandos. Fuck me, the more I think about it the most it pisses me off. Captain America: The First Avenger had a chance to really create some amazing screen adaptations of some of Cap’s early days and yet butchered a lot of things and the Howling Commandos was one of them. In the film the group is some of just thrown together through one conversation and they don’t really come across as a group or as proper allies because of the groups lack of screen time with Cap, plus most of their scenes are all in bloody montage! Such a waste a great group who have such a massive impact in the comics.

I feel like a Marvel short would be definitely be necessary for these characters, where you see them doing some mission back in WWII with a bit of action and stealth. Possibly give us the group’s individual names and gives us a sense of their personalities and show why they were the group that Cap chose in the first film. And hey if Peggy Carter can get one then there’s no reason why these guys shouldn’t either.

War Machine

Iron-man-2-war-machine-character-poster

Colonel James Rhodes is one of the cool guys from the MCU (mainly in the first and third film), but I feel like some time with him doing his own thing would be cool. Maybe have an adventure where Tony’s out-of-town which requires Rhodey to take on the threat alone and show off his own badassery. Don Cheadle has proved he’s a useful partner for Tony, but I would like to see how useful he is when it’s just him on his own.

And in truth that’s it, those are the only characters I feel really require the extra screen time in shorts so that you can get a better feel for them in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. So what are your thoughts on the matter? Drop them in the comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review yo. 🙂

 
Comments Off on Marvel One-Shot Films That NEED To Happen!

Posted by on December 21, 2013 in Films, Life, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
