RSS

Interstellar Trailer #1 Review

19 Dec

Okay, I know this trailer’s been out for a little while already but I just had to give my thoughts on it, of course I am talking about Christopher Nolan’s next big film, Interstellar. There’s been a lot of talk about the film and its been hidden in secrecy for ages, and now we finally get a teaser trailer, however, it’s not exactly what I was expecting.

Just have a look at the teaser below:

Well, okay, erm, don’t really know what to say to that. Honestly I think this has to be one of the “wtf” teaser trailers I have ever seen, in the sense that it did absolutely nothing to tell you or show you what the film is about. Now below loads of people start coming over to this blow trying to rip me to shreds in the comments here me out for a second. I understand what a teaser trailer is, it is meant to give you a tiny taste of what the upcoming film is about and of course in recent years most trailer give away too much, however this trailer gives you NOTHING.

All you get is a load of archive footage related to humans and space travel with monologue by Matthew McConaughey, then you get some random film footage sliced in of a bookcase with a dusty plane toy kind of thing on it, fields of corn, some people holding hands and lastly McConaughey driving a car and that’s it. That is it. There was barely any film footage at all. I obviously wasn’t expecting too much from a film that’s still a year away, but to give people a trailer and have it consisted of mostly archive footage and then a few seconds of actual film footage and then the title of the films, that’s just no good.

Some people may be fine with it and some have argued it’s a great teaser and is what teaser trailers should be, however, I don’t think that this is a good teaser because unless you’re a fan of Nolan and/or have been following the film, you have absolutely NO IDEA what the hell this film is gonna be about. At least the recent Dawn of the Planet of the Apes teaser gave us something to work with.

interstellar-teaserposter

Now I’m sure this film will probably be awesome and we’ll probably get a better trailer down the road, but as it stands, the first teaser to Interstellar is not doing anything for me. Hate on me if you must, but that is my opinion on the matter.

What do you lot think of the teaser? Sound off your comments below yo! Laters. 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2013 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Interstellar Trailer #1 Review

  1. lauren

    December 19, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    I have no idea what that trailer was about either but I have faith in Nolan.

     
  2. CMrok93

    December 19, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    So far, I’m left a little blue. However, I know that eventually, with time, Nolan will deliver on giving us something that we can’t wait a single, ‘nother second for!

     
  3. sidekickreviews

    December 20, 2013 at 3:37 am

    I love that poster. Maybe I’m in the minority but I like the teaser after the second viewing hehe. I like the feeling it conveys, that we are on the verge of another giant leap for mankind. I also love the narration. Totally respect your point of view.The first time I watched it I was thinking, so what’s the story and what does this film look like?

     
    • Hypersonic55

      December 21, 2013 at 6:33 pm

      Yeah I hear ya, I mean maybe I am being a bit hard on it because it isn’t the normal type of film teaser, but it is kind of annoying when this is meant to be promoting a film.

       
  4. Gede Prama

    December 21, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    visit, read the article and thanks for posting your article is quite good and we hope that all our friends all success and thank you all, greetings. (This is a good thing) 🙂

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
