RSS

Second Guessing My Future Aspirations

05 Dec

Howdy ladies and gents, time for another insight into my mind and today I’m having another one of those reflective days. At this current point I’m procrastinating doing my work for my 3rd year modules at university because of a combination of laziness, but also a lack of inspiration and creativity. And it got me thinking, is this what I wanna do for the rest of my days?

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

For the longest time since I was a kid I’ve wanted to an animator and create cartoons that the world could see with my name on it, however in the last few years, on several occasions I’ve been questioning whether it is the profession I really wanted to go into. I love animation, no doubt about it, however, I have always questioned with I had the talent or patience to jump into such a competitive industry.

DoubtMaybe it is just down to self-doubt, but I believe it is more than that.

So if I were to jump ship from the world of animation where would I go next? Well I’ve always had backup plans. I’ve considered loads of roles in media including: camera operator, illustration, comic book artist, concept artist and then there’s radio too (something I absolutely have a big love for),

But one job that I’ve really given some thought to is being a writer.

writerYeah, I’ve actually considered this line of work and to be honest I think it’d be pretty interesting for me.

Since my late teens (around 18 or 19) I considered that maybe writing is something for me to look into and considering all the blogging I’ve been doing since I started being a blogger in 2007, add to that my reports and essays I did for my media production course in college and I would say writing ha become a big part of my life. Plus I’ve always liked to tell stories, whether they’re my own or fictional. People tell I tell pretty good stories and since it’s still a form of creation, I’d be totally down with it as a profession.

The only question is where does this leave me with animation? Trust me, it is something I haven’t given up on by any means, but I guess right now I’m in a bit of rut and I dunno how to shake it off. Maybe it’s because of the pressures of university and its deadlines and how it stifles my creativity or maybe it’s because its part of education, something I’ve been doing for the last 7 YEARS. I dunno, I could just be fatigued or lacking in imagination. For the longest time I thought I knew what I wanted in life and now that we’re making movements towards the dream, I’m not sure if I wanna chase this dream and change my path. I’m truly lost in the world of my own mind right now and it is hardly helpful. :S

Well that’s it for now, thanks for reading peeps and I’ll see ya on the next post yo! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Second Guessing My Future Aspirations

  1. myreelpov

    December 7, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Don’t give up on the animation!! As soon as you start writing for a career it will become work and will lose it’s appeal just like you feel with animation at the moment. You just need to finish your degree and get out there in the real world, I bet your passion and creativity will come flooding back – don’t give up!!!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      December 7, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      Thanks for the inspiring words yo, guess I will just have to stick it out and see where I end up. I’m ready to drop animation just yet, I’m just lacking the motivation and creativity. Let’s hope 2014 can reignite the fire.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
