RSS

Favourite Songs #25: Calvin Harris – I’m Not Alone

27 Nov

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 25th edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today I’m going to be talking about one of those songs that has been in and out of my life for almost 5 years, but it’s definitely one that I can never get tired of. Today I’ll be talking about “I’m Not Alone” by Calvin Harris.

Ah Calvin Harris, he’s a man who can almost do no wrong. His music making skills are damn good and I pretty much enjoyed his singles off of his first album, but when this single dropped my world changed yo.

Just have a listen to this tune below:

I recall hearing this on BBC Radio 1 back in 2009 for the first time and literally falling in love on first listen. The entire song is just simply infectious from the beginning. The intro is so calm with the music and lyrics and then it builds up as the main music part kicks in and that’s when the song blows up! XD

I feel like this song came out at a time when dance music still had credibility, when all forms of EDM was fresh, new and exciting. When I listen to this song it reminds me of a time when I still loved this genre of music, I listened to it in the clubs, on the radio and on my MP3 player too. “I’m Not Alone” in a lot ways symbolizes the best aspects of dance music, that feel-good factor that comes with it and the fact that it sounds good also helps too.

In my opinion unfortunately these days we live in a world where music now has no meaning, where most songs are just noise, made up of annoying electronic sounds, poorly executed and repetitive lyrics and music that just lacks a soul. I feel like we’ll never have EDM music as good as it was 4 or 5 years ago, but hey we can always like and hope.

calvinharris2

So to conclude “I’m Not Alone” by Calvin Harris is a bloody good song. It captures everything that is good about the EDM genre in one wonderfully crafted song. While Harris’ more recent work doesn’t really hold a candle to his previous work, at least we still have his classics like this to look back on fondly. Of course I highly recommend that you have a session to this song! 😀

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
