RSS

Elizabeth Olsen Confirms That She’ll Play Scarlet Witch, Plus Additional Info!

12 Nov

Hi people of the interweb, time for some more comic book related film news and this one while not overly surprising is worth talking about. So recently Elizabeth Olsen confirmed what most of us on the net knew already; that she would be taking on the role of Scarlet Witch in The Avengers: Age of Ultron. But now we have some additional info which gives us just a tiny bit of info on the way the character will be handled and how Olsen will approach the role.

olsen-witch

The following info comes from ComicBookMovie:

“After sealing the deal with Marvel Studios and now doing press for Spike Lee’s Oldboy remake, Elizabeth Olsen has been liberated to discuss her role in Joss Whedon’s The Avengers: Age of Ultron as Wanda Maximoff aka the Scarlet Witch. Nerdy Rotten Scoundrel reminded the actress that Samuel L. Jackson had “confirmed” her involvement before she could and that he was excited to work with her. “I don’t know if we’ll work together,” responded Olsen. “But we’ll be doing Avengers together. I don’t know if we’ll be doing any scenes together though,” she added. 

When asked how excited she was to be joining the sequel to last year’s highest-grossing film, The Avengers, Elizabeth explained, “Yes, I’ve become like such a nerd about it. I’m having so much fun right now. It’s really really fun to read those comics and its really exciting. The majority of this stuff isn’t relevant to what we’re gonna be doing. But I’m loving it and it’s a lot of fun.” 

As for the Scarlet Witch’s costume, Olsen says she doesn’t know much about it, “but it’s not probably what people would expect.” She adds, “I’ve been doing homework and reading comic books as my homework right now.” In a separate interview with blogger Carla Hay, Elizabeth Olsen was asked why she’s excited for the project. The actress admitted: “I’m feeling really excited about Scarlet Witch because she’s really complicated. It’s really fun stuff. I’m kind of tired of playing myself right now, like, versions of myself. Doing something like [Scarlet Witch] sounds a lot cooler.” 
UPDATE: Speaking more about her costume in the Age of Ultron, Olsen told Ain’t it Cool News that “I know what the costume is going to be more or less like. I’m just excited that she’s never been portrayed in film or on television before.” 

According to Screenrant, Elizabeth Olsen was pressed even further about Scarlet Witch during the Oldboy press conference, as she was asked how she’ll ground the Marvel heroine as opposed to the real-world characters she has played. “The same way, I think! I actually feel really good that I just did a play because it requires so much imagination, you know? To acknowledge the fact that all these people are here, but you’re making up this room that your in that you’re not in, or whatever… So far I’m just doing a lot of reading right now on Scarlet Witch and it’s really exciting. But the imagination, like to a child, and like running around in a play yard is what it feels like right now. And that sounds like so much fun, but you still want to approach it with the same kind of like ‘No, this is where she’s from,’ and it’s real. And that’s what’s fun about it. Let them put on the costume or do the special whatever-they-need-to-do to make it look special, but I’ll just do my part – it just has more extreme things to it. [Laughs] I’m like really excited about Scarlet Witch.” 

Finally, when asked to elaborate on her comments above, Elizabeth Olsen went on to reveal some things she’s found out about Wanda Maximoff since reading Marvel comics. “The most recent thing I learned – I don’t even know if it has anything [to do with the film], it’s just fun to read these comics – it’s just so fun! Like, she’s a ‘nexus,’ like she’s the only human being from this universe who can communicate with paranormal things and the past and the future and other universes; like to me that’s pretty incredible! [Laughs] Like just thinking about that is amazing! To touch things and know where they’ve been, that’s crazy!” Safe to say Olsen is very excited! “

So what have we gotten from these interviews? Well Olsen sounds pretty damn excited, okay, sarcasm over, but seriously how excited is she? Haha.

From what I understand is that Olsen is aware of the source material and is reading the comics too. She she’s to understand the character’s personality, powers and knows that there will have to be some changes from the comics to the big screen. I do like when actors/actresses take the time to look at the comic books. So far so good right? I’m pretty down with this actress taking on the role, she seems like a legit good address and she’s pretty to boot, I have no quarrels with her at all.

Now some sad little nerds are complaining that Olsen looks too young to play the character and to them I say really? Come on now she’s 24, that’s old enough for me yo. Plus add to the fact that character ages and looks change all the time in comics depending on the artist, series and time period of the stories.

Let’s just see how she fares in the film with her acting talent shall we, okay? Good. 😛

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Elizabeth Olsen Confirms That She’ll Play Scarlet Witch, Plus Additional Info!

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    November 12, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    I don’t really care, she looks ok for the part and I don’t really have any preconceptions so like you said lets wait and see 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      November 14, 2013 at 4:20 pm

      Indeed, you sure are a smart man and know what the deal is! 😀

       
      • Tim The Film Guy

        November 14, 2013 at 4:35 pm

        Yeah just because I agree with you haha xD

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
