RSS

My Thoughts on James Mangold & Hugh Jackman Doing Another Wolverine Film

06 Nov

Howdy people of the web, now I know this news story has been up for a little while and I’m kind of late to this party, but I could sit back and not share my opinion on this recent bit of comic book film news. The following info comes from superherohype:

James-Mangold-Hugh-Jackman

“Deadline is reporting that 20th Century Fox has begun negotiations with The Wolverine director James Mangold to direct another solo “X-Men” film starring Hugh Jackman as Logan. Mangold is negotiating now to write the treatment for the film with Lauren Shuler Donner returning to produce. No word on what the storyline is, as Fox is keeping it under wraps for the time being.

To date, Mangold’s The Wolverine has grossed $413.6 million at the worldwide box office and is the second-highest grossing film in the “X-Men” franchise behind X-Men: The Last Stand‘s $459.4 million.

Including the upcoming X-Men: Days of Future Past, the film will mark Hugh Jackman’s eighth appearance as the character on the big screen.”

Well this was surprising to read about. When I first saw this I initially I thought it was a joke. I dunno why but I just didn’t think it was real. THEN I saw this news story being spread over several sites and realised that it wasn’t bull and it was actually legit. Okay. So how do I feel about this, well, I’m kind of half and half.

Personally I really liked The Wolverine, while it wasn’t perfect and definitely had problems that can’t be ignored, I thought it was the most accurate representation we’ve gotten of the character since the X-Men film series started and it was a HELL of a lot better than X-Men Origins: Wolverine. That being said I’m not sure I really want another Wolverine film so soon, if at all. Now I love Hugh Jackman in the role, I mean LOVE him in the role and he’s totally committed to the character. However he’s been doing the character for over 10 years and I think it’s about time 20th Century Fox at least gave the other X-Men characters a chance to shine. He’s already the center of Days of Future Past, if he jumps into another film I dunno if that’d be a good thing.

Wolverine-Film-Teaser

But when all is said and done Wolverine is the flagship character in the film series and 20th Century Fox are all about money and less about quality so I wouldn’t be surprised if this did go ahead. I wouldn’t mind it, I just wouldn’t be overly keen on it right now.

So what do you lot think of this new about there being another Wolverine film? Leave your thoughts below.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Thoughts on James Mangold & Hugh Jackman Doing Another Wolverine Film

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    November 6, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Wolverine is the only one that really works consistently in the series. Hugh is getting on though and I will see my reboot achieved!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      November 14, 2013 at 4:29 pm

      I hear ya man, I do just want him to bow out, not because I don’t wanna see more, but because he’s done his part and he’s awesome. Now let’s make an X-Men film series under Marvel with equal amounts of screen time for the whole group and focus on the people who were poorly adapted before.

       
      • Tim The Film Guy

        November 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm

        I am afraid Fox will not be letting go of that cash cow any time soon 😦

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
