RSS

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Paul Rudd the Frontrunners for Ant-Man?

15 Oct

Alrighty then, time for me to give my late thoughts on some of the recent film news that’s taken place over the last few days. And today we’re starting with CASTING RUMOURS! WOOOO! No but seriously its nice to get to speculate about actors and their links to upcoming films whether it be legit or not. So yeah the following information comes from superherohype:

ant-man-656

“Variety is reporting that Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Paul Rudd are the two frontrunners for Marvel Studios’ Ant-Man, to be directed by Edgar Wright.

The trade adds that another actor could emerge, but as of now Marvel is said to be meeting with the actors one more time before making a decision.

Walt Disney Pictures has scheduled a July 31, 2015 release for the film, which was written by Wright and Joe Cornish.”

Okay so this is the first set of actors who have been mentioned for this role since loads of fanboys over the internet stop moaning on about Nathan Fillion and that other random incident with Simon Pegg. So yeah let’s analyze.

NEP4neqCq57SSS_1_2

Joseph Gordon-Levitt

So yeah what can I say about JGL that hasn’t been said already? He’s a fine actor and in the last 3 years alone he’s become a very notable name in Hollywood and his acting talent is very good and versatile. Its no wonder he’s been attached and rumoured for so many film roles these days. Now do I think he’d make a good Hank Pym/Ant-Man? Maybe. I think he’s good but I dunno how JGL fares in the realm of comedy considering the director who is in charge of this film and the subject matter of the superhero in question. Also I think he may look a bit young for the role. But putting that aside I think he would be a nice choice for the role.

Paul Rudd

As for this guy well I’m less familiar with his work than JGL, but that’s probably becomes he’s in comedy films and I’m not really a fan of that genre that much. But the bad thing is I’ve actually seen several of the films he’s been in including Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, Reno 911: Miami, The Perks of Being a Wallflower and This is the End… But, I don’t remember him in any of those films at all! And that’s bad considering that I’m very good with faces. But anyways, I think Rudd would have the comedy element of Ant-Man down plus he looks like he has the right kind of age in his face to take on a character like Hank Pym.

Now obviously this is all speculation at this point and it may even end up that neither of these actors end up playing the role of Ant-Man, but I thought I’d just give my opinion on the matter. Alrighty then, if you have any thoughts on this story drop them in the comments below and I’ll see ya later yo. 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2013 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Paul Rudd the Frontrunners for Ant-Man?

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    October 15, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Okay? Interesting. I can’t see either of them but I guess we’ll see.

     
  2. sidekickreviews

    October 15, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    I don’t know enough about Ant-Man to decide who would be better. But I’d rather they keep searching for other actors for the role.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
