RSS

RoboCop (Reboot) Trailer #1 Review

07 Sep

Alrighty then! Its trailer review time once again and today’s review is one I have been dreading for a while now… It’s the trailer for RoboCop… THE REBOOT! Now I have actively hated on this film ever since those set pictures came online of that ugly ass suit that was gonna be in the film. I hated it then and I still hate it now, but I thought just out of curiosity I’ve given the trailer a watch and what followed was not what I was expecting at all.

Check out the trailer below:

Damn. Well this trailer surprised me, it actually looks pretty interesting and a lot better than I thought it would me. That being said I still have some problems with it. So let’s start with the good stuff. Firstly THE GREY SUIT RETURNS! That was the first big winning point for me, while the suit’s definitely had some remodeling I am so glad to see it in this film and it looks nice and moves pretty well too. Secondly SAMUEL L. JACKSON! Any time this man is in a film it is worth my time because the dude is awesome and he looks so crazy awesome in this film, one person said he looked like James Brown and now I can’t get that thought out of my head haha. 😛 I also like how RoboCop is aware that he’s been changed and goes to attack his creator kind of like a Frankenstein incident. And lastly the appearance of ED 209 in its new form is a welcomed addition and I hope we get to see it shoot the hell out of someone in this film like the first one!

So what don’t I like about this trailer? Well firstly I still don’t like that black suit design, you can try and convince me all you want but it still looks dreadful when compared to the grey and black one. Sure it looks better in movement, but it’s just too plain and lacking in flair. Why Michael Keaton did you have to make it black! You’re not Batman anymore, stop it! Then there’s the way that Alex Murphy becomes RoboCop, in the original the guy was beaten to death and had his body dismembered by some street thugs, whereas here he just gets his car blown up in front of him. Now Jeremy Jahns highlights in his review that this new interpretation doesn’t feel as strong as the previous film and I’m incline to agree. I think this new film is missing a bit of that personal and gritty nature that came with the original film. Also I’m sensing an overuse of CGI too, now I know that visual effects are used to create things we wouldn’t be able to do in the real world, but there is an art to it and it can easily be done wrong when not worked on properly. I think some of the CGI looks a bit too fake and over-the-top, but as long as it’s not overused and still has room for practical effects then I’ll be cool.

robocop-2014-banner

So to conclude I have to say that this trailer actually has me interested and to some degree intrigued as to how this new RoboCop film will play out. I’m not saying that I still don’t have my fears about the film, I think that right now this film has gone from something I wouldn’t give the time of day to something I’ll actually give a chance to. Only time will tell whether this reboot was a necessary one or not.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2013 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “RoboCop (Reboot) Trailer #1 Review

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    September 7, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    AHAHAHAHA!!!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 10, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      I’m not sure how to interpret your laughter, is it laughter towards the trailer or my analysis of the trailer or are you just crazy and psychotic? 😀

       
      • Tim The Film Guy

        September 11, 2013 at 11:38 pm

        A little from column A a little from column C 😀

        I just think it looks laughable xD

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
