RSS

2013 in Film So Far… Not Been That Impressive To Be Honest.

07 Sep

Howdy people, I’m here again! Haha! And today I wish to take a look back at the films we’ve gotten so far in the cinema during 2013. And I think I can easily say that I haven’t been in the cinema this year nearly as much as 2012, I think that’s just due to my crazy personal life that’s gotten far more complicated than before. But even with that factor taken into consideration, the films I have seen this year haven’t given me much reason to scream and shout about how great they are, and that is truly unfortunate.

flm

2013 has offered a great deal of films, a good few I was super hyped for, but none of them have quite delivered the entertainment factor I was hoping for.

Ah I remember when 2013 started and I was saying to myself “This year is totally gonna be better than last year for films, I can feel it.” Oh what a fool I was. If only I knew of the shit that was coming my way… It is hard to remember all of the films that I’ve seen this year and there’s a reason for that. THEY’VE BEEN VERY FORGETTABLE! I have actually had a lot of trouble trying to remember what I watched this year and its meant that I’ve had to go through my blog posts and cinema tickets to recall what’s come out this year, and you know that’s not a good sign.

Right now I’m gonna go though a select number of films and break them down by the following sections; films I enjoyed, films that were just there and films that sucked! Also note that this is based on the films that I’ve seen personally, I’m also not including films that were technically released in 2012 and remember this is just MY OPINION. Okay let’s go.

Films I enjoyed:

  • Oblivion (I had fun with the film)
  • Trance (besides a few questionable story choices, I liked it)
  • Iron Man 3 (Mandarin issues aside I loved this film)
  • Star Trek Into Darkness (not quite as epic as the first film but Benedict Cumberbatch is awesome!)
  • Fast & Furious 6 (not as good as Fast Five, but still cool as hell)
  • The Iceman (such a good and underrated film with Michael Shannon)
  • Despicable Me 2 (a surprisingly great sequel with good humour)
  • Pacific Rim (a kick ass summer fun time film)
  • Now You See Me (another surprisingly awesome summer film)
  • The Wolverine (while not perfect, it is WAY better than the last Wolverine film)
  • Kick-Ass 2 (this was my kind of sequel and I liked it a lot)

Films that were just there:

  • Gangster Squad (such a disappointment, but not quite shit though)
  • Epic (not ‘epic’ like the name suggests, kind of boring)
  • Welcome to the Punch (good leading characters, boring everything else)
  • Broken City (I keep forgetting if I’ve even seen this film)
  • The Croods (I expected more from the setting and story)
  • The Incredible Burt Wonderstone (not a shit film, but a very good one either)
  • G.I. Joe: Retaliation (better than the last film but still largely disappointing)
  • After Earth (better than I thought it’d be but it was dull and lacking Will Smith)
  • World War Z (better than expected but still nothing special)
  • The East (a film with interesting ideas that just didn’t capitalize on them)
  • Monsters University (a good Pixar film, but not a great one)

Films that sucked:

  • Movie 43 (this film still left scars in my mind!)
  • Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters (waste of my life)
  • Man of Steel (more disappointed than anything else, hyped up too much)
  • Jack The Giant Slayer (such a waste of time, poor Ewan McGregor)
  • Evil Dead (2013) (such a crappy remake, such a fail of a horror film)
  • The Hangover Part III (not necessary, not funny, not anything)
  • The Conjuring (not scary at all, where’s all this hype coming from?)
  • This Is The End (not nearly as funny as it should have been)

summer-2013

 

This year showed so much promise especially for the summer season but only half of it has been worth my time yo.

The thing that’s really pissed me off about this year is that there’s not been one single film that’s made me go “Oh my god I loved that film! I need it as soon as it comes out on DVD!” And that sucks because I had SEVERAL films last year that I loved and I wanted/still want on DVD from last year. 2013 has just not been the epic year I had hoped for.

While 2013 is far from over and I still have a lot of films to watch that are on my radar specifically like: Thor: The Dark World, Machete Kills, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, I feel like those films will really have to push the boat out to impress me because so far 2013 has been a bit disappointing to be honest.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2013 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “2013 in Film So Far… Not Been That Impressive To Be Honest.

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    September 8, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    Yeah more disappointed than anything i am afraid 😦

    I did not expect my favourite film of the year so far to be Pacific Rim, AT ALL!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm

      Haha I know what the feels like, I’m totally with you on that one. 😛

       
  2. sidekickreviews

    September 8, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    I also feel there hasn’t been an instant classic this year. My most anticipated movies like Man of Steel and Elysium didn’t live up to expectations.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 10, 2013 at 10:12 pm

      I hear that man, I had stupidly high expectation for so many of the films this year and I feel so gutted that nothing met or even exceeded my expectations unlike last year and the year before.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
