RSS

Favourite Songs #23: AFI – 37mm

05 Sep

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 23rd edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today I’m going to be talking about AFI, one of my favourite bands in the world! In light of their return in 2013, I’m gonna review what is arguably my favourite AFI song ever, “37mm“.

207542155500001_06

Oh my god. This song is simply gorgeous! I seriously believe that its one of the best songs that AFI have ever done and it pains me to hell that it was never released as an actual single because it’s THAT GOOD!

Just have a listen to this song of epicness below:

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATt39NPahkk

Ah AFI, they’re a band that know how to make such good rock music and during my time going through their music back in I think either 2008 or 2009, I came across “37mm” and my world changed. This song instantly clicked with me. I can’t really explain how, but from the time the song starts up, it paints this dark and moody atmosphere with some interesting instrumentation, but it’s when that chorus kicks in, that’s when I just melt. I LOVE the chorus, it’s just so damn beautiful. The way this whole song is constructed just screams of awesomeness! I hear this song and every time I hear it, it’s almost like hearing it for the first time all over again because of that feeling of satisfaction I get from it. The song is truly something special to me.

This song is off of the amazing Decemberunderground album, a beautiful piece of material from 2006 and it is AFI’s most popular album for a reason. 🙂

It’s funny that after how many years, “37mm” still sounds as great as it does, its my favourite AFI song and most people I talk to about it hardly appreciate its epic beauty. Thanks to last.fm and my iTunes I’ve listened to this song a lot more in the last 2 years and my love for it surprisingly hasn’t diminished. I am pleasantly surprised by that though.

So to conclude “37mm” by AFI is an incredible song, just amazing and I highly recommend it to people who are fans of AFI but don’t know about this song or just people interested in rock or post-hardcore music but appreciate it in all its forms. This is a great tune yo. Nuff said. 🙂

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2013 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
