RSS

Daft Punk “Get Lucky” Review

19 Apr

https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/71/Get_Lucky.jpg

Ah yeah, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes! I have waited for this moment for days! I only found out about Daft Punk’s return to the musical world just over a week ago and when they showed off a preview of their first new single “Get Lucky” that features Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers I started to freak out. I watched the preview video several times over the last week and have watched the Daft Punk’s The Collaborators videos that can be found on The Creators Project on YouTube. So today on April 19th we finally have the first official release of the single, well at least the radio edit and all I can say is I am in love! Just have a listen below:

The full version of the song sounds pretty much like an extended version of the snippets we’ve gotten the previews so far but that’s by no means a bad thing. I love the way this song sounds, it’s got a classic, disco/funk/electronic sound to it. It feels like it’s from the 70’s yet it retains that memorable Daft Punk style and it’s one of those sort of songs that anyone can groove to. I love Nile Rodgers guitar work here, it definitely has style and that unique kind of sound that’s all him, and then there’s the accompanying vocals of Pharrell Williams, one of my favourite artists/producers and he is wonderful. I love the lyrics and the way he sings over the track, as bad as this may sound this, this is the best thing he’s done in ages since N*E*R*D’s Seeing Sounds album in 2010 (Nothing was only half decent by comparison). But regardless of that Pharrell does great here as does Rodgers and the robots who come together to form this super sexy sound of awesomeness.

During parts of the song I could tell it was a radio edit due to some areas of the song not lasting as long as I’d thought so I REALLY can’t wait to hear the full version when that eventually arrives. And if this is the kind of sound that Daft Punk are working on then I can’t wait to here the whole of Random Access Memories. The song sounds like it could actually fit into any time era and I feel in a few years or maybe even decades I could potentially be still bouncing to this song.

Overall “Get Lucky” by Daft Punk sounds like the kind of music we need in this day and age, something that’s old but new at the same time and has a subtle beauty about it. So what do you think of Daft Punk’s new sound? Are you on the hype and loving it or do you dislike it or had you hoped for something better? Whatever your thoughts drop them in the comments section below! As for me I’m gonna keep jamming to this song so more!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2013 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
