RSS

Me And Comedy Films

18 Apr

This year I have been going to the cinema a fair few times and in that time I have watched two comedy films Movie 43 and The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, two films I was really looking forward to seeing this year which both ended up being not nearly as entertaining as they should have been (especially the now infamous Movie 43 that makes you wish there was a reset button in my your somewhere). And when I’ve gone to cinema and seen some of the upcoming films it makes me sigh and cringe most times. So that got me thinking about comedy films in general and how much I don’t care for them.

comedy-movies-rated-r-vs-rated-pg-13

Comedies, the one genre I don’t run out to see or invest too much time in.

Now I mentioned this a little bit in my Movie 43 Rant/Review but for those who didn’t read it allow me to explain. Comedies as a genre is one I rarely ever watch especially in the cinema. The only time I watch comedies is under a set of special conditions that are as follows:

  • If there’s an actor/actress or a cast I REALLY love that demand my attention.
  • If it’s a film that has a massive hype around it.
  • If someone’s recommended it to me and told me it’s really good
  • If I’m in one of those situations where I’m with family or friends and they select the choice or film

Other than those conditions I’ll never make an effort with comedy films. Comedy films along with horror films are my least favourite genres of film. I guess you’d like to know why I seem to despise the genre so much? Well quite its simple actually… It’s hard to make me laugh. Now I know that may sound like bull and in truth I tend to laugh at a lot of things, even things that aren’t meant to be funny, but the fact of the matter is that when it comes to a film purely based around comedy it has to be the funniest thing in the history of existence or I’ll sit there straight-faced throughout. My kind of humour is an acquired taste. I love cartoon humour, you know from your basic slap-stick stuff to your stupid and childish humour to physical comedy. That’s the kind of stuff I love, but I guess I love it more in cartoons because there’s no restrictions and it’s not grounded in reality which means situations can get ridiculous but still remain hilarious. When its done in live-action the humour’s not quite the same and it normally fails because we’re going through the types of humour again and again or its dialogue tries to be really witty and smart but just gets drawn out and tedious.

But the main reason why I can’t get into comedy films is due to the timing. Timing is everything to me in a comedy film. If the timing is off on a joke or a bit of physical humour by a few seconds it can mean instant failure for me. Now I have made a lot more effort to watch comedies in the last 2-3 years with varying results but most times they’re never as memorable as films in the action, thriller or sci-fi genres, genres which I love and will always run to watch in the cinema without question. I always find it funny when I ask people about their top films of all-time and several people have comedies in there, whereas one time I constructed a top 50 film list and there wasn’t one comedy in there. That’s how little I care for the genre.

That’s not to say there’s not exceptions to the rule though. There are a few comedy films I do like a lot and they are Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World. They are of course all films by Edgar Wright. Now that man knows humour and his films never fail to make me laugh, there is something about his type of writing that makes the humour so fluid, that makes the banter between people so good and the way his physical plays out is just amazing. While I liked Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, its Scott Pilgrim I got mad love for. I’ll never forget when I first watched that in the cinema, I’d never laughed so much in the cinema in forever! It was first-class humour and had Wright’s style littered all over the place. If I was to go one step further I’d say his TV series Spaced is one of the best things ever too, so much great stuff in that show.

scottpilgrim

One of my favourite films ever, this film works for me on both the nostalgic and comedic levels. This film was Wreck-It Ralph before Wreck-It Ralph, just crazier haha.

281851582_594349504001_100825EdgarWright-3732906

Edgar Wright, this man is godly when it comes to comedy. He hasn’t made anything I haven’t laughed at yet.

EdgarWrightSimonPeggNationalMovieAwardslZa0upOlsd3l

The legendary trio, Edgar Wright along with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, they work so well together.

As for other comedy film I like well it’s not many but the list includes: Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls, The Inbetweeners Movie, Anchorman and Men In Black. Those are the only ones that immediately come to mind.

So to conclude I just wanted to make a blog post stating my feelings on comedy films, why I’m not overly keen on them and why there may not be that many reviews on upcoming films within that genre.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2013 in Films, Life, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Me And Comedy Films

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    April 18, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Can’t wait for The World’s End haha couldn’t sound more like a super villain mwahahahaha xD

     
    • Hypersonic55

      April 19, 2013 at 1:20 pm

      It does sound like something an evil villain would say isn’t it? Haha 😀

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
