RSS

My Current Obsession With Alexisonfire

24 Mar

Right now my life is in a state of confusion, laziness and uncertainty… But one thing that I do know is that I LOVE the sound of Alexisonfire and their music fuels the fire in my soul in a way that very few artists can. So today I’m just gonna give you readers a small history of how I came across the band and how they changed my world in December 2012.

alexisonfire-4f46623d7268e

Now as I said in the tenth edition my Favourite Songs, I’ve known of Alexisonfire for a few years prior to listening to their music properly but it wasn’t until December when I was going to see them live in London that I listened to two of their albums, Alexisonfire and Crisis. I started with their most popular album Crisis first on in late November because I already enjoyed the sound of “This Could Be Anywhere In The World” and after listening to the album my mind became obsessed with some of the songs, specifically “Drunks, Lovers, Sinners and Saints”, “Mailbox Arson”, “Boiled Frogs”, “You Burn First” and “We Are The Sound” After just one day several of the tracks on this album became obsessions and I couldn’t go on in my day without hearing them. Alexisonfire literally flew so high up on my Last.fm charts and that hadn’t happened since I started listening to Jack White back in January 2012.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a0/Orig_Crisis_300RGB.jpg

This album is perfection to me.

I then went onto listen to their first album the night before I had to go to London to see the band live. It was a very different experience, their sound on their first self-titled album was a lot looser and a bit more chaotic then their later work. It did have some nice tracks on their but I think the album lacked focus, though there is no denying that “.44 Caliber Love Letter” is one of their best songs and one of the best intro songs to any album I have ever heard.

Even though I had only listened to just two of their albums, when I watched them live at Brixton O2 Academy it was electric. The atmosphere was frantic as hell, the crowd was going insane and me my mates were going mad with satisfaction. People were pushed around, there were mosh pits all over the place and crowd surfing happened like every five minutes. But beyond all of that there was great band playing together for the last time in the UK and it was some epic stuff. I only knew like a third of the playlist, though that didn’t stop me from having an amazing night.

alexisonfire live brixton

Alexisonfire were simply incredible that night.

After the concert I went through their other two albums, Watch Out! and Old Crows/Young Cardinals. Both albums were a surprising but interesting listen. Watch Out!, their second album is actually the album I have listened to the least out the four, it’s not because its bad or anything like that, its only because it wasn’t overly significant. Plus at the time the Crisis album was still so addictive too. I eventually moved onto Old Crows/Young Cardinals in the latter part of January this year and found this album to be very good. It had a similar sound to Crisis, but it also seemed like the band had evolved and changed a few elements. The songs I took an instant liking to were “Old Crows” and “Sons of Privilege”; they were just beautiful songs to my ears. And now in March I’ve given the album a second listen and now I’ve found some new obsessions in the form of “The Northern”, “Midnight Regulations”, “Emerald Street” and “Heading For The Sun”.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3/32/Alexisonfire_-_Old_Crows_-_Young_Cardinals_%282009%29.jpg

A bloody good album that gets better with each listen.

Before I conclude this blog post indefinitely I will list my top 5 Alexisonfire songs. Now this won’t be in a specific order and this list won’t count “This Could Be Anywhere In The World” because that song is automatically great and doesn’t need to be listed. Anyways let’s begin:

1. .44 Caliber Lover Letter

There is no denying the epic beauty of this song, that introduction alone is just well-crafted and sounds insanely sexy.

2. Crisis

 

This is my current favourite song on the Crisis album, it is just pure power and it sounds sooo good! I love the music composition and the lyrics and the vocals. It’s just perfect!

3. You Burn First

 

This is my previous favourite song from the Crisis album and the first track I connected with straight after my first listen. It is just a slower and darker song but builds up to a great finish. I love the lyrics and style of the song and how it differs from the rest of the album.

4. Old Crows

 

This is the opening track on the Old Crows/Young Cardinals album and it hooked me straight away. The lyrics, the music and the overall sound just captured my ears and mind and never let go since.

5. We Are The End

 

This was a hard choice but I think it’s safe to say that this song has been played enough times to be in my top five. It has great lyrics and music and it is one of my favourite tracks on the Crisis album,

So what’s the point of this blog post? To spread the word about the awesomeness that is Alexisonfire and just spread my feelings of obsession with their music! Hopefully if you haven’t given this band a listen you might do after this blog, it took me until last year to get into their music and these days I can’t live without it! 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Life, Media, Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Current Obsession With Alexisonfire

  1. MikesFilmTalk

    March 26, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Dude! Just to let you know, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award – just follow the bouncing link -http://mikesfilmtalk.com/2013/03/26/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award-and-the-liebster-award-thanks/

     
    • Hypersonic55

      March 26, 2013 at 5:25 pm

      Thanks a lot yo, I will be sure to take care of this award soon enough. 🙂

       
      • MikesFilmTalk

        March 26, 2013 at 5:30 pm

        No worries, mate! Get to it when you can. 😀

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
