RSS

Favourite Songs #11: DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – Boom! Shake The Room

11 Feb

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the eleventh edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today’s song is pure nostalgia straight from the 90s; here we have DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince with “Boom! Shake The Room”!

https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b7/Boom%21_Shake_the_Room.jpeg

Now this is nostalgia in its purest form, for me this is the definition of my childhood. Besides Sonic the Hedgehog, Will Smith was one of my main influences when I was a kid, he was everywhere from films to TV and on the music scene. I was only familiar with a few of the songs by DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince when I was younger, but this song was one of my absolute favourites! I remember watching the music video for “Boom! Shake The Room” all the time on TV and singing along to the chorus all the time, it was so damn catchy! Also the music video for the song just looked insane, just a bunch of fans going mental for the rap duo as they commanded the stage, danced and bounced around. Check it out below:

What I really love about this song is the simplicity of it all. It is just hip-hop in a fun and happy-go-lucky manner. I liked rap back in the 80’s when it was about how great you were, how you were gonna rock the mic and just have fun, and on the occasion talk about fine women. That was rap when it was innocent, with no profanity or the overuse of the N word, just fun with no seriousness about the songs whatsoever. DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince were a duo who made rap music that was fun to bounce to and this song is no exception. “Boom! Shake The Room” is loud and in your face, has great lyrics and one of the most addictive choruses ever, it feels like a chant that everyone should get down with and you know once you it, you gotta get up and do that dance from the video!

Another interesting thing to note is that I never knew that there was more than one version of the song. There is actually an album version and this version is known as the “Street Remix”. When I heard the other version I was kind of shocked, it didn’t sound nearly as good as the version that I knew and in truth I prefer the remix any day of the week yo. And my final thing to note is that I used to be obsessed with this song in my younger days and listened to it continuously as a kid and in my teenage years I was still bouncing to that song a lot too. However these days I don’t listen to this song as much as I should be, so with my recent love for 90’s hip-hop returning thanks to A Tribe Called Quest, I think it may be time to give DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince another try yo.

Photo of Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince

So to conclude “Boom! Shake The Room” by DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince is just the definition of classic! It’s a song sadly forgotten by time and most people under the age of 20 in this day and age will never know the awesomeness that was DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince. But for those of us that still remember, this is one of the coolest and catchiest hip-hop songs from the 90s’ which was just plain old fun and shows of Will Smith and Jeff Townes at the height of their game. If you’re not familiar with this song, stop reading this blog and get listening! 😀

Well that’s another song review done, sorry about not having a song up last week but my life has become pretty hectic recently so now I think this may become a fortnight kind of thing. We’ll see. Be sure to come back next Monday for another song review, hopefully. 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2013 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
