RSS

The Day I Turned My Back On My Educational Morals

06 Feb

Ah life, it is funny isn’t it? You never know what’ll come next, you just gotta ride it out and see where it takes you. One of the strange things about it is how you subtly change without really noticing it, and for me that is definitely something I’ve began to notice over the last year, especially when it comes to education.

tumblr_mog4ziwG841rrph00o1_500

Hmm sometimes I do wonder about that…

Now don’t get me wrong I’m not saying education is not important, far from it. If you were to ask me if I was for or against it I’d totally be for it, however in the latter years of college I found myself wondering if I what I was learning was relevant to me and what I wanted in life. But college was college, I just wanted to get through it so I could move on to new heights at university… However this is where the real bullshit kicked in. While I love Sheffield and its many various places to shop, party and just generally hang out, I can’t say the same for my university experience. Since coming to Sheffield Hallam in 2011 my course has made me question why go to uni in the first place, I mean sure I am paying for it and it SHOULD be enjoying the course I picked right? WRONG! My animation course for all its bells and whistles is only around 30% actually animation-based stuff, everything else is just some other form of bullsh*t that has nothing to do with the subject matter and it sucks!

Now in most cases I feel a commitment to show up to class all the time, I have done for years and until uni came into play my attendance record in school and college was flawless. In uni when second year started in September my attitude towards class changed and for the first time I started skipping classes. They weren’t important classes so it wasn’t that bad, but the fact was that I missed them and it felt weird. However today was the real day that I turned my back on class and just said, “F*ck it.I’m off.”

Today I had a workshop class and it at 09:15 (I hate early morning starts!), so I got up and ran to uni. I had to drop off a camera I borrowed a few days beforehand so I went there and handed it in. Then I had to find my class but there was one problem I wasn’t sure where specifically it was. So I ran around uni trying to find it but to no avail, so then I used a PC to have a look at where we were meant to be and I found out it was at another building… At that point I was like “I’m already late, forget this I’m going home.” And that was it. That was the point where my education mindset changed.

Now I easily could have run to the building and come in late, but my tutor said to be there on time and I’m one of those guys that works in two ways: 1) You show up on time or 2) Don’t show up at all. That is a code I’ve always lived by and it applies here too. The whole weird thing about this situation thing about this situation is that I’ve never just no to education, sure in college I used to moan about it a lot but then I’d move on and get on with it. But now in uni I find myself more and more not caring about what I am learning. Only around have of it is relevant to me and my favourite module so far was an elective module on script writing WHICH HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ANIMATION!

I dunno this is truly a time of great change if I, the man who never misses anything is starting to change is morals that he so desperately held on to in school and college. Well I won’t be ditching class forever, that much I now right now, though I will be counting the days, just waiting for this educational crazy adventure to end.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Day I Turned My Back On My Educational Morals

  1. myreelpov

    February 6, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    I see where you are coming from here! I did a degree in Digital Media and Communications – it was all very vague and non-specific from Website design, Media theory in globalisation, Data-base design, Film making, to education theory. Whaaaa?! HOWEVER I stuck it out and did the best I could – now I have a 1st on my CV and most of the time, that alone is worth it’s weight when your trying to find a job. So hang in there my friend and take the highs with the lows!!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 6, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      Thanks for commenting yo. I see, so it’s not just my uni course that teaches non-specifc modules. And yeah I know, I’m not gonna bail on my course after getting this far ahead. Just gonna have to suck it up and deal with this endurance test called uni haha. Thanks again for sharing! 😀

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
