RSS

Favourite Songs #6: Dizzee Rascal – Sirens

19 Nov

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the sixth edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. And today’s song is one I remember from my college days; here we have Dizzee Rascal with “Sirens“.

 https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/1a/Dizzee_Rascal_-_Sirens.jpg

Now back in school I was a massive Dizzee Rascal fan, while I never owned his first album, Boy In Da Corner, I loved his second album, Showtime. The songs on that album defined my later years in school and were the sound I was listening to the most when playing video games or just relaxing outside of school. So when I heard Dizzee was making a new album I was well hyped, but that three-year wait between the second and third album was so painful. All that hype was building and almost made me explode! So then in May of 2007 Dizzee Rascal’s first single off of his third album dropped and that song was “Sirens“.

Now when I first heard this song I really wasn’t feeling it. Dizzee’s raping style was very different from his previous albums. The way he pronounced words seemed different and his rapping wasn’t nearly as fast and his lyrics didn’t seem as captivating as before. I just thought “Well this is alright, but not nearly as hot as his tunes on Showtime.” And since I watched the music video for the song it didn’t help me like the song any more. It just seemed too weird and far removed from Dizzee’s regular style. However after a few months I found myself really getting into the song, the chorus was catchy and I really liked the rougher sound that came with Dizzee’s lyrics. Eventually this song became one of my favourite songs, and it was really down to the lyrics, the lyrics really sound good when you’re pissed off at people.

So to conclude while “Sirens” by Dizzee Rascal is not his best song by any means, it is still a great song and one of the better songs on his Maths + English album. This song is one of the few songs that has Dizzee raping about what he raps about best; the streets. When he creates stories with his lyrics with intensity and ferocity, that’s when I love his songs. The style is very different from the songs on his previous two albums, but it still kicks ass!

Well that’s another song review done, sorry about not having a song up last week but my life has become pretty hectic recently so now I think this may become a fortnight kind of thing. We’ll see. Be sure to come back next Monday for another song review, hopefully. 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
