RSS

Month of Nostalgic Game Reviews: Colomns

17 Nov

Howdy ladies and gents and welcome to Day #17 of my Month of Nostalgic Game Reviews where I’ll be giving you reviews of some of my most nostalgic video games from my childhood. And today we have another hidden gem from the 90s in the form of Columns.

http://www.texturemonkey.com/HCG/blog/Columns_(11).jpg

This puzzle game was first released in 1989 and then was ported to the Sega Genesis/Mega Drive in 1990 and then on the Sega Master System in 1991. The best way to describe this game would be a cross between Tetris and Connect 4. The concept of this game is similar to Tetris where you are confined to tall, rectangular playing area, however where in Tetris it’s all about making lines to advance, in Columns you have align the different coloured jewels in order to advance. As long as you get three or more of the same colour next to each other either horizontally, vertically or diagonally, then the jewels disappear and you get more points. You can rotate the jewels as they fall so you can position them appropriately when you want to slot them into a specific area. Also you can get this magic flashing jewels that come down and whatever colour you place it on, it erases that entire colour in your pile. And like Tetris it starts out slow but then speeds up and get absurdly chaotic! To me this game is just as addictive as Tetris, maybe even more so. You really need to see beyond what’s going on at that current point in time and plan ahead. I think the strategy involved with this a bit more complex than Tetris because of the ever-increasing speed and lack of hints after the 3rd level is over.

https://i0.wp.com/www.nintendojo.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/scrn_columns-02.png

My memories with Columns are one of a loose nature. You see I think this is also one of the games I used to own before my mum gave it away to my cousins, along with several of my other Mega Drive games, most times I played this game was over the summer holidays or half terms I spent at my cousin’s house in London. This was one of the most addictive games to me back then. It was just such a rush trying to advance, aligning colours and trying to get a better score. Alas I heard that game over music far too many times when I was young and failing in Columns really did feel like a kick in the balls because you try really hard, only to fail because of a few missteps along the way. But anyway presentation-wise the game looked nice from a visual standpoint, and like most games in the 90s Columns had a great soundtrack, the one main song I remember was called Clotho. I dunno what it was about this song, but it was simply incredible and I would spend ages listening to it as I played the game endlessly. the last time I played this game was I think either when I was 14, 15 or 17 on a Sega compilation console and even then the game was still hard as hell to get good at, I should really pick this game up again and see if I’m any better haha.

https://i1.wp.com/farm5.static.flickr.com/4077/4818447749_caaaf1a839.jpg

So to conclude, Columns is an awesome little puzzle game from the past which I highly recommend. It is in a lot of ways the more hardcore version of Tetris and I reckon it’s worth your time yo!

Well there’s another review for you, remember to drop me a comment about the game below and come back tomorrow for some more gaming nostalgia! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2012 in Game Reviews, Media, Reviews, Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
