RSS

Favourite Songs #4: Goldie – Inner City Life

28 Oct

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the fourth edition of my blog series dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. And today’s song is just pure nostalgia for me from the 90s, just good, good stuff yo. The song is “Inner City Life” by Goldie.

 

This is a song that I’ve known about for as long as I can remember. I was introduced to this song via my mother. She was really into 90s jungle and drum and bass music. The funny thing about “Inner City Life” is that it’s like a radio edit of the full song from Goldie’s Timeless album entitled “Timeless: Inner City Life/Pressure/Jah” (this original version goes on for around 20 minutes!) I remember hearing my mum play this song and seeing it on TV and hearing it on the radio. This was the sound of the 90s for me, just this old school drum and bass sound. I remember days I would dance around my house when my mum would play this tune or there were the days when we would drive up to London and be listening to this in the car on the way up. I just to love it when my mum played this song along with the rest of the Timeless album, it made my life! I swear this song was embedded in my memories for years! And then my mum stopped playing the song and slowly life moved on and I forgot about it.

I don’t think it was until my later years in school when I was 16 or maybe 17 when I was in college when I found this song again. Reacquainting myself with “Inner City Life” reminded me of how much I loved that old drum and bass sound and again reminded me of my younger, carefree days as a kid in the 90s. Since my college days when I became a radio DJ I made it my mission to make sure that this song got some good levels of exposure, especially with the direction drum and bass has been heading in. It sounds like it has been progressively worse and being used in horrible ways and doesn’t have that magnetic sounds like it did back in the 90s. So that’s why revisiting Goldie’s work makes me feel at peace. Last year I was finally able to get Goldie’s Timeless album from my mother when I went back home during my break from uni and that 90s sounds brought all the childhood memories back.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/04/Goldie_Timeless.jpg

The Timeless album is badass!

So to conclude I don’t think I have to hide how much I love “Inner City Life” by Goldie. It’s a legendary tune from the 90s and just all-round good sound yo. I really think you should have a listen and if you have the chance hunt down Goldie’s Timeless album, it really was a big deal back in 1995 because its sound was so ahead of the game and mixed in so many different flavours into the drum and bass pot. I approve and recommend this song very highly!

Thanks for reading. 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 28, 2012 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Favourite Songs #4: Goldie – Inner City Life

  1. Pnut86

    July 31, 2014 at 12:24 am

    I stumbled upon this blog during my quest for this very song! I’ve been hounding for this song since the creation of smarter search engines (i.e. Google) and unfortunately the only lyrics I could remember were “in the city night”, which I learned today was “inner city life”!! Now, if only I can remember where I heard this song at so long ago….regardless, THANK YOU FOR THIS POST! I will also dedicate a blog post to this song. People need to experience this greatness!!

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
